Chemistry
Physics
Language subject
Physical education

And 2-4 additional.

Latin maybe?

Scroll to see replies

English and Maths

I would do another one covering citizenship, adulthood, mental health, personal finance, cooking and careers guidance.
Original post by Harriso1
Personally I think:

English Language
English Literature
Mathematics
Biology
Chemistry
Physics
Language subject
Physical education

And 2-4 additional.

Latin maybe?

Those are all well and good but you'll start to struggle to timetable all of those into a teaching week without seriously extending the school day. Schools design option 'columns' to fit timetabling meaning students can only pick certain subjects to avoid clashes with others. Typically, if you take triple science (Physics, Chemistry and Biology) then you lose 2-3 options depending on the school meaning you can only pick 1 other option. This is in contrast to someone who takes combined science and can then take 3-4 other subjects.

As a teacher, my choices would be:
English (Language & Literature)
Maths
Science (Combined or Entry Level minimum)
MFL

I can all but guarantee that an MFL subject will be compulsory when the national curriculum is reviewed again in the future as MFL was introduced as compulsory in primary education not too long ago. I disagree with PE being a compulsory GCSE, although I would agree to combine PE theory into Biology - this is how it is structured in most other countries and it works rather well.

RE/RS has and most likely will always be a compulsory subject but it isn't a compulsory GCSE contrary to popular belief.

PSHE being compulsory too, there should be some formal recognition for it.
Original post by 999tigger
English and Maths

I would do another one covering citizenship, adulthood, mental health, personal finance, cooking and careers guidance.

Mental health GCSE. You cannot be serious