Turn on thread page Beta

How are we to deal with there always being someone a 'better fit' for the job? watch

ReputationRep:
    As the thread title states i would really like to know how people starting out in their career or with a year or two industry experience are meant to be successful in their quest for employment when no matter how good you interview there is always someone that is a better fit for the role in the eyes of employers. It's like the job market is at a point where a lot of graduates could suffer from 'chronic' unemployment as there is just too much competition due to employers having the luxury to keep job posts open for several months to find people with very specific experience, rather than hire for the potential they see in candidates .

I graduated about three years ago and have about 18 months experience (short term contracts) and have been unemployed for almost for 4 months now and my most recent feedback was ' the employer really enjoyed the conversation and it's nothing about you as a person but they have had a lot of application and they simply will be pursing others'. This is seriously becoming a revolving door and i have serious fears that as the gap on my CV grows i will become unemployable.
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by chosenone93)
    As the thread title states i would really like to know how people starting out in their career or with a year or two industry experience are meant to be successful in their quest for employment when no matter how good you interview there is always someone that is a better fit for the role in the eyes of employers. It's like the job market is at a point where a lot of graduates could suffer from 'chronic' unemployment as there is just too much competition due to employers having the luxury to keep job posts open for several months to find people with very specific experience, rather than hire for the potential they see in candidates .