Electromagnetic Radiation is - What Actually is it? Watch

PhysicsStudent17
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hello everyone,

I am a high school student, who is looking to study Physics at university.

I would like to please kindly ask for your help, with a question about electromagnetic radiation

I can't visualize what it actually is. Perhaps this is more of a philosophy question?

Here's a list of what I understand:

1) Oscillating charged particles produce changing electric fields
2) Changing electric fields produce magnetic fields (I understand what a displacement current is)
3) Changing magnetic fields produce changing magnetic fields (i.e Faraday's law)
4) Therefore a changing electric field yields a changing magnetic field, and vice versa

Then I'm stuck.

I just can't tangibly visualize what an electromagnetic wave is. I've trawled through the Khan academy videos (usually a great resource, but I still can't put my finger on this)

So you have changing electric and magnetic fields. Is that what the wave is? Why is the wave moving away from the body? How far does it travel? Why does the wave move away from the body? How do changing fields create this thing?

Thank you for any help
AyyJeh
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
If I’m being perfectly honest, it’s not something you can just visualise. It’s more something you have to consider is around and just know about its effects. At the end of the day, the visualisation is your imagination as it’s something which is a mystery to us all
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
Ljg2015
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
(Original post by PhysicsStudent17)
Hello everyone,

I would like to please kindly ask for your help, with a question about electromagnetic radiation

I can't visualize what it actually is. Perhaps this is more of a philosophy question?

2) Changing electric fields produce magnetic fields (I understand what a displacement current is)