Turn on thread page Beta

Should the n word be said by teachers? watch

ReputationRep:
    Do you think that teachers are allowed to say the n word for educational purposes like when reading books such as to kill a mockingbird or when talking about the history of racism in america?
    I bring this up because it's generally agreed on that only black people are allowed to say the n word but a couple years ago i studied to kill a mockingbird and my english teacher said it was okay to say it if youre quoting literature. Recently i studied heart of darkness and the teacher said the same thing.
    What do you think? Should only the teachers be able to say it, everyone or nobody?

ReputationRep:
    I mean, in my opinion, if the person doesn't mean it as a slur, they can say it, as long as it is very clear that they don't mean to offend, and if all those around them are alright with it.
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by filmaker)
    Do you think that teachers are allowed to say the n word for educational purposes like when reading books such as to kill a mockingbird or when talking about the history of racism in america?
    I bring this up because it's generally agreed on that only black people are allowed to say the n word but a couple years ago i studied to kill a mockingbird and my english teacher said it was okay to say it if youre quoting literature. Recently i studied heart of darkness and the teacher said the same thing.
    What do you think? Should only the teachers be able to say it, everyone or nobody?
    No it isnt.

It is perfectly fine if it is in context and there is an educational reason for it.

ReputationRep: