The Student Room Group
University of Oxford, Pawel-Sytniewski
University of Oxford
Oxford

Applying to Oxbridge. 2:1 now but can get 1st overall

I'm considering applying to Oxford and Cambridge and I'm in my second year.

I currently have a very low borderline 2:1, but I believe I can easily get a first overall by next year.

My transcript is quite unusual, I got bad grades at the start of the year but A grades at the end, as I had learnt to pace myself properly, so the evidence of my ability is there. Furthermore, I'm doing PPE, and my grade was dragged down by Economics, I achieved around 68% for each of politics and philosophy, and I want to do the masters in political theory, so my strong suits are relevant.

I will also support my application with research assistant experience, a research institute project, and a possibly a publication of one of my a grade essays, amongst other things.

I want to go into academia so my motives are there. I believe my application will be compelling apart from parts of my transcript.

Is it a realistic possibility that I could receive a conditional offer with all of this considered? Or would it be better to apply next year once I had achieved an actual first?

Thank you, Jamie
(edited 5 years ago)
Original post by JayWalls
I'm considering applying to Oxford and Cambridge and I'm in my second year.

I currently have a very low borderline 2:1, but I believe I can easily get a first overall by next year.

My transcript is quite unusual, I got bad grades at the start of the year but A grades at the end, as I had learnt to pace myself properly, so the evidence of my ability is there. Furthermore, I'm doing PPE, and my grade was dragged down by Economics, I achieved around 68% for each of politics and philosophy, and I want to do the masters in political theory, so my strong suits are relevant.