Why is there something rather than nothing?

Watch
username3457004
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Think about it, our whole reality, everything we know is something. But why does it have to be that way, wouldn't it be better if there was nothing?
SkyRunner61
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
It just is
gjd800
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Ha, this was a second year metaphysics essay question when I did my undergrad degree half a lifetime ago.
QE2
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Why not?
I'm God
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
You wouldn't know if it was better as there would be nothing.

Nothing is better or worse than nothing because nothing is nothing more than nothing.

Nothing in this makes sense
username1738683
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
We simply don't know whether there is a why to everything, that's all there is for us to know. We can't tell why the laws of physics are what they are. Faith is something that may occur when there is a void to fill, one that cannot be explained scientifically or any other way.
Bluelax01
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
Most things to us are nothing, people don’t care about other people or possessions unless they have a sentimental value or if they mean something to the person, at the end of the day everything is just a number on a piece of paper and no one really cares about anyone unless you or a possession is truly special to someone ( a bit repetitive I know). What I’m trying to say is almost all life is meaningless. We all have a group of people or possessions that we hold dear but to people we don’t know or who I loved ones don’t know they’re just another group of people they can let die or steal from.
PTMalewski
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by TheCoolStool)
Think about it, our whole reality, everything we know is something. But why does it have to be that way, wouldn't it be better if there was nothing?
It's just not logically possible.