I lied on my CV now I have a job interview

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
So basically lied on my cv saying I worked at semi well known stores because I wasn’t getting any job interviews due to a lack of experience. So after remaining truthful for a month of looking for a job after exams, I lied on my cv and now I have a job interview at a well known store.I’m scared I’ll be caught, so what are the chances I’m going to be caught?I have worked at similar stores but they’re unknown so it doesn’t help my cv. So if asked about it in my interviews I can easily form an answer.
Help I’m just a broke student and I want to know if they’ll be any repercussions for my actions. Before you call me a liar, this is my first time lying about something like this and I feel really guilty.
CTLeafez
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
If they found out, I'd assume you'd lose your interview/job, but I doubt they'd be calling the police on you

What did you actually expect to happen when you lied on a CV you used to apply to a job? You've got an interview, surely that's what you expected to happen? Sounds like you did a silly thing without really thinking out the end result.
Anonymous #2
Report 2 years ago
Might not be a problem at the interview if you can sound convincing, but it will be an issue if they ask for a reference from them... Who did you say you worked there? Was it your most recent job on your CV? If so I would cancel the interview...
hannah00
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
no biggie, you just need a friend to act as as character reference and confirm your address, employment over the past 3 years.

even if they email this company and say you were not employed, just say you were and they must have you under a diff name or system.

However they may ask for p60 forms etc, in which case just reject them when they make you an offer.
UWS
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago