At a Crossroads: Unsure What to Do? Watch

inadarkwood
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi everyone,

I've followed TSR forums for years but finally making my own post. I'm a disabled student with Cerebral Palsy, and I graduated recently. During my final year I got a Students with Disabilities Officer Job at my Student Union. The job is unpaid, and there's an enormous amount of work to be done at my university as the Disability role has laid dormant for around eight years. I was reluctant to do anymore education after my degree, but I let the Disability job decide it - if I got elected, I'd stay on and do a Masters. If I lost I'd return home and find a job. I got elected.

Yet as my degree looms, my apathy and misery towards it has only escalated. A Masters degree would bankrupt me currently. At my uni disabled students are forced to stay on campus as off campus accommodation isn't accessibility orientated in any way. Thus the slightly cheaper option is cut off to them (and me). The thought of the long hours this job will necessitate, and being unpaid, makes me miserable. Yet I feel like fellow disabled students are counting on me.

This summer the only thing that's kept me afloat has been teaching creative writing in schools. I've enjoyed it enormously, and I'd like to see more workshops in hospitals and hospices. On top of this I have a Guardian internship coming up, and they've hinted that they employ a large amount of their interns. It feels like I'm being pulled in many directions and I don't know what to do?
cheesecakelove
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by inadarkwood)
Hi everyone,