The Student Room Group

GDL part time- work full time... hard? Also SQE?

Hi,

I’m starting the GDL self funded this September. Plan to attempt to get a training contract and do the LPC.. ideally funded if I get a training contract.. does this ever happen??

But the SQE starts as I finish the GDL... possibly then jump to this?? Not much info on this though.

Am I wasting my time doing the GDL? Feel very anxious!

I’m a nurse (bachelor of science with honours- got a first) ... full time work, part time GDL and two kids... mistake or go for it? Deposit all paid etc 😬😬
@J-SP might know more.

I am not sure the sense of doing the GDL to then have to do SQE 1**. By the way, how are you paying for the GDL? Is it a GDL under an LLM, for which you can get SLC funding or is it a GDL meaning entirely out of your own pocket?

** EDIT: looks as if you can choose which route you want to do, if you started your academic stage before Sept 2019. This would be open to you until 2024 under current proposals. I must say I should have known this, as I have an LLB under the old system.

Personally I would not bother with the route, as you're already in a pretty decent profession. To come out of nursing to go into low-level legal work, for a rather meagre salary, is rather unattractive to me. But SQE opens up the profession more, should make everything cheaper. Maybe it is sensible to wait it out.
(edited 5 years ago)
Original post by J-SP
Why the assumption it would lead to low level legal work and a poor salary?

There will be a transition period of about 5-7 years, so the LPC + TC will still be possible. The GDL may also give you a good grounding if you do have to do the SQE.

Yes, got that edit in before you re 2024.