oslogirlwameme
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I have wanted to be a doctor forever and it was my ambition whilst doing my alevels however i was just never quite good enough for undergraduate.

Gcses i got 8As and 3Bs, so not really a typical medical student and for that, I was treated as a joke by many of my alevel teachers

Alevels I did so poorly i think due to my lack of effort (i have all this motivation but ended up not taking school seriously because i thought i’d be ok revising last minute like gcse) I got CCDD. Yes disgraceful really

Uni- well i’m currently studying a healthcare course that requires a LOT of placement. i’ve improved massively in terms of clinical skills and confidence with patients and it’s made me want to peruse medicine even more! I found out my uni offer the GEM, but you must sit the GAMSAT.

I got a 2:1 in my first year and am about to go into second and i’m hoping to push harder and achieve a first.

I looked into gamsat and realised you have to learn all of first year medicine and it’s all basically alevel chem and biology which i got D’s in. I was told i. school i am just not able to apply knowledge and should forget medicine. Also essay writing i suppose i’m mediocre at it , i’m just always average in everything i do that I feel I will end up with a score of 40 no matter what I do.

I just wanted some advice, is it possible to revise so thoroughly that I get a decent score or is the test aimed at those who are naturally good problem solvers and can apply their knowledge (naturally gifted people) ??
the interview shouldn’t be too hard for me as I have tons of experience in hospitals and am generally good with people anyway.