The Student Room Group

Worried about extra-curriculars for uni?

I'm currently 16 years old and I'm in my last year of secondary education. I have never really been involved in clubs and activities within the school and not much outside of school. My family moved from a small European country to Scotland in 2010 and I developed some form of anxiety and became avoidant because I didn't speak English. I was always academically driven and never felt the need to join any clubs etc. Now I am worried about my chances of getting to study History because others would have had a more balanced school life and more achievement. I didn't realise this was a factor of success and would affect my chances of making it to uni, and now i'm stressed. Also, no-one in my family has ever made it past secondary education, and I have an opportunity to study further, and I enjoy History a lot. I'm currently taking advanced higher history and I really enjoy the challenge it brings, it makes it really interesting.
I'm considering taking a gap year because i turn 17 in January and therefore i'm younger than most people in my year. During this time I could work to save money, volunteer, etc. I still have one year left to join some clubs and do things outside of school, but is it too late? Do you think what i'm talking about is that important? What do you think
Thank you for taking the time to read and any replies are appreciated. :smile:
I didn’t do anything like this and it didn’t matter hugely. Where are you hoping to apply?
Original post by del1rious
I didn’t do anything like this and it didn’t matter hugely. Where are you hoping to apply?