The Student Room Group

whats the best undergraduate degree for Graduate entry medicine

ATM going to be studying bio medical sciences at Nottingham Trent in September and I just need some advice as graduate entry medicine is the main goal and I want to put myself in the best position I could be in. I've also got a concern about where I'm studying as its not a Russell group uni and its placed 40th in the rankings. Would this harm my chances for GEM ?

I've still got time during clearing to do something about it and I've looked at higher ranking unis and I meet there clearing requirements however only for the more biology emphasized degrees such as human biology for example as I lack the chemistry qualifications.

help would be appreciated
Original post by Buxton100
ATM going to be studying bio medical sciences at Nottingham Trent in September and I just need some advice as graduate entry medicine is the main goal and I want to put myself in the best position I could be in. I've also got a concern about where I'm studying as its not a Russell group uni and its placed 40th in the rankings. Would this harm my chances for GEM ?

I've still got time during clearing to do something about it and I've looked at higher ranking unis and I meet there clearing requirements however only for the more biology emphasized degrees such as human biology for example as I lack the chemistry qualifications.

You're doing a life sciences degree so that makes you eligible for all graduate entry medical degrees. The actual title of the degree doesn't make a difference e.g. biomedical sciences, biochemistry, biology, genetics etc are all fine. It doesn't matter whether you go to a Russell Group university.

You should try and do some long term healthcare related volunteering or work (e.g. as an HCA) during your BSc in preparation for applying for GEM.
Reply 2