The Student Room Group

Which of these universities should I choose?

Hello,

I'm a European student and I've been admitted to these 4 universities:

* Lancaster University - (BSc Computer Science)
* University of York - (BSc Computer Science)
* Newcastle University - BSc Computer Science (Software Engineering)
* University of Liverpool - BSc Computer Science with Software Development

I wish to attend the one that meets these 2 conditions:

- has the highest percentage of students who obtained a 1st class degree.
- has the highest percentage of students who pass all 3 years at one go (in other words, lowest percentage of failure).

If someone has an idea which one meets these conditions, please let me know!

I checked https://unistats.ac.uk but unfortunately the data is based on a small amount of students in some cases.

Thank you for your help!
(edited 5 years ago)
Original post by Ecologist
Hello,

- has the highest percentage of students who pass all 3 years at one go (in other words, lowest percentage of failure).

I checked https://unistats.ac.uk but unfortunately the data is based on a small amount of students in some cases.

Thank you for your help!

i believe this information is accounted for in the Times-Sunday Times Good University Guide 2018. the league table is not the first entry when you google it but it is available free online.

also why aren't you going with Scottish universities where tuition for you would be completely free?
Reply 2
Hello,

Thank you for your help!

Those are important criteria, but perhaps think about, I don't know, the actual courses themselves, whether you'll enjoy them, whether they're more theoretical, or whether they contain more practical aspects.
Just because a lot of people pass, doesn't mean that the course is any good, it could just be really easy, and just that not well respected by employers. (I'm not saying that any of the courses you've listed are)
Reply 3
Hello,

Thank you for your help!