TheLocalHero
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello Everyone!

I’m currently in my last year of studying Biomedical Science, and i’m applying for the 5 year medicine courses next year! Currently i’m predicted a upper first, and i’ve got a ukcat of 2570. I’ve done 6 months volunteering as a hospital volunteer, 1 week shadowing, 1 week as a nursing home volunteer, and i’ve done 1.5 years of volunteering as a school charity organiser.

My question is can I use my maintenance loan to pay for my tuition fee? I’m unsure of the amount I will get on a second degree living at home. Thanks!
Romatron
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi - sorry you haven't had a response to this yet. I'm just going to bump the thread in the hope that someone sees this and can help
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Your maintenance loan, as you know, is paid directly into your bank account. Whether you spend that on rent, tuition, or prostitutes is up to you.

However, how much if any maintenance loan you would be eligible for, I'm not sure. Medicine as a second degree has some additional "clauses", which I believe allows you to be eligible for a maintenance loan only for the preclinical (i.e. non-NHS funded) portion of the degree. However, normally if you are registered as living at home you aren't eligible for a maintenance loan. I would recommend you contact SFE to query this latter point.

Also I'm not really sure what the relevance of your application statistics are for the question...
TheLocalHero
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by artful_lounger)
Your maintenance loan, as you know, is paid directly into your bank account. Whether you spend that on rent, tuition, or prostitutes is up to you.