How to revise and deal with stress?

Watch
livgenet
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, I'm new to TSR!

I would really appreciate any tips on revision. I'm entering Y11 after this summer and obviously, revision is essential since GCSEs are pretty imminent. I don't drastically struggle with revision (my grades do not suffer - grade 8 is my average), as I would say I'm a hardworking student, but I do put myself under a lot of pressure as a result.

Needless to say I think this stress would lessen if I had any tips on revising efficiently and combating my worries. Unfortunately I don't believe it will ever cease as I'm a natural worrier and I overthink everything.
My worst tendencies include that I procrastinate to avoid revision, and when I do start revising, I don't have a place within my house where I am completely comfortable and left to work in peace. Stressing out has caused me to become detached socially and harm friendships as a result, steer towards even more procrastination, feel worthless and like all efforts are futile, have no appetite, lose interest in other activities or lessons, etc, etc. However, I don't know if this is normal and a sacrifice I have to make to keep getting my grades.

Also, I am frequently unsure of my revision technique. Mostly, I:
- Make notes and diagrams including mind-maps
- Use colourful highlighters to outline what is key within my topics
- Make revision flashcards (but this is a lot of effort and usually I can't be bothered!)

But often it feels as if I am just copying and regurgitating things from a textbook or my exercise books, with the information not actually infiltrating my brain. I'd love some advice on new, fresher ways to revise. I don't know if I'm asking for the impossible and I will just have to face the fact that all revision tends to be this way and it generally sucks...but it was worth a shot!

Anything to try and make the coming year more enjoyable and less exam-orientated