Why is a mole related to carbon 12? and what is a 'mole of ammonia'? Watch

Kali5
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to chem and i'm struggling to understand why mole is related to carbon 12.

I understand that mole is the measurement of quantity, just as we count a 'dozen of eggs'. I have read plenty of websites describing this and it still doesn't make sense to me why carbon 12 is related.

Also, what is meant by the term '1 mole of ammonia'. How can there be 26.022 x 10^23 particles inside an ammonia molecule? Since 1 ammonia molecule has 10 electrons, 10 neurons and 10 protons. So how can there be 602,200,000,000,000,000,000,000 particles in this? Aren't atoms the smallest form compounds can make? They're 3 atoms in ammonia, how can we get such a large number? I'm not getting something here, lol. Any help is really appreciated
Majime01
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
Hi there,

from what I know that carbon 12 has weight which is very close to being exactly 12 unlike other elements which have point something something...... I don’t know I might be wrong here but it’s been a while since I studied chemistry.
Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play
Sinnoh
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago
A mole is just Avogadro's number of something. A mole of hydrogen means that you have Avogadro's number of hydrogen atoms. A mole of beans would mean you had Avogadro's number of beans. A mole of ammonia means you have Avogadro's number of entire ammonia molecules.

As for why carbon-12 is used, well maybe it's because organic chemistry is a huge part of chemistry.

Moved to Chemistry
charco
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 7 months ago