Help? Is this ok as a dissertation topic/title?

Watch
ops12
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi there!

I'm starting my third year in september and have chosen to do a dissertation. The only problem is is that im really confused and don't even know if i understand exactly what a dissertation is.
Im studying film and tv production, I don't think it matters if you know anything on the subject, but I was just wondering if this sounds right as a dissertation title? because I have no idea if im doing this right.
I was planning on doing my dissertation on
'the representation of different genders on children's television'
I'd be very grateful for some feedback on if this sounds ok or not!
Alan88
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by ops12)
Hi there!

I'm starting my third year in september and have chosen to do a dissertation. The only problem is is that im really confused and don't even know if i understand exactly what a dissertation is.
Im studying film and tv production, I don't think it matters if you know anything on the subject, but I was just wondering if this sounds right as a dissertation title? because I have no idea if im doing this right.
I was planning on doing my dissertation on
'the representation of different genders on children's television'
I'd be very grateful for some feedback on if this sounds ok or not!
A dissertation is a final year project that differs from your other assignments in that you are responsible for your own learning under the direction of an assigned project supervisor. In essence, you will identify an area of interest and get the opportunity to explore this in detail. Undergraduate dissertations tend to be between 8,000 - 10,000 words.

In most cases, a dissertation will involve primary data collection where you conduct your own research or it can involve the use of secondary data only, so you in effect create a long literature review that addresses your proposed topic.