Which medical schools accept transfers due to extenuating circumstances?

Watch
metico
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi
I am a medical student who would like to transfer to a different medical school due to circumstances involving illness. I would like to know which universities accept transfers due to extenuating circumstances. If anyone has experience or knowledge of the transfer process, please let me know.
I live in Scotland and I currently go to university in central England (London) but I would like to transfer closer to home so that I can get assistance from my parents and the medical team up here.
I contacted all the Scottish universities and Edinburgh was the only university which accepts transfers due to extenuating circumstances. Right now it is the 12th of August and apparently it is too late to create a transfer application for September so I suppose I will have to try next year if I have any chance here!
I am currently in the process of contacting universities in England. Leeds had said that they accept transfers under extreme extenuating circumstances. They also said that I would have to apply through the university I am at, asking for a reference. Failure to progress in a current degree would stop an applicant from transferring.
Yeahwhat
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
They normally don't release such information on transfers. I think unis offer them on a case by case basis.
username334839
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I know for a fact that Liverpool have acepted transfers in the past under extenuating circumstances
metico
Rep:
?
I would think that every application is considered on a case by case basis.
They often have this kind of information on the FAQs or the admissions policy document, and unfortunately, most universities say no to transfers.
(Original post by Boss987)
They normally don't release such information on transfers. I think unis offer them on a case by case basis.
metico
Rep:
?