How to write about my gap year in my personal statement Watch

andreasz
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm a non-UK EU student applying for deferred entry to Medicine (for 2020). The reason that I am taking a gap year is that I need to complete a 14-month long military service in my country right after I finish school. It's a full-time thing so I don't think I'll be able to obtain any more work experience during that year (although I have plenty of experience already). I know that universities want you to have a very clear plan for your gap year which involves Medicine related activities. Would it be acceptable to just write that I am going to be serving in the military in my personal statement, given the fact that I have a considerable amount of work experience already?
alleycat393
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by andreasz)
I'm a non-UK EU student applying for deferred entry to Medicine (for 2020). The reason that I am taking a gap year is that I need to complete a 14-month long military service in my country right after I finish school. It's a full-time thing so I don't think I'll be able to obtain any more work experience during that year (although I have plenty of experience already). I know that universities want you to have a very clear plan for your gap year which involves Medicine related activities. Would it be acceptable to just write that I am going to be serving in the military in my personal statement, given the fact that I have a considerable amount of work experience already?
You don't even have to mention it if it doesn't add anything but there are skills you can talk about that are relevant.
ln._.xn
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago