Are LSE, UCL, etc worth it when you can do a masters in Europe for much less?

Watch
Surri3
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi all,

I got offers to do my masters at both LSE and UCL (Politics), but I also applied to a couple of similar programmes in Spain and France, where the fees are literally 1/4 of those in London (e.g. £14,000 vs 3000€). I just want some perspective because I feel the reputation of LSE and UCL is blinding me a little and I'm not sure if paying that much for a masters just to have the LSE/UCL brand on my CV is really worth it.

I really like the programmes in London, but the ones I got into in Europe are also really good, and the unis are one of the best in the countries as well. I am mainly doing my masters to have better career prospects, but also because I really like the subject and would like to continue studying it.

Any thoughts/advice would be very welcome
username3434964
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Yes, but in the Uk you get student finance to pay for the fees.

How will you pay for the fees in France / spain?
I don't know how the loans and stuff work in France/spain
NickOnTSR
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
The best places are the Netherlands and Germany. In Germany it's free and in the Netherlands the courses are around £1000, including free public transport worth a couple of hundred pounds per year. I would recommend the University of Amsterdam for example. Highly regarded uni globally, better than many UK Russell Group unis.
mba1413
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Surri3)
Hi all,