computer_noob
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi, I'm currently studying the Level 3 OCR Cambridge Technical (CTEC) Diploma which is sort of my school's equivalent to a BTEC qualification. Technical Diploma is equivalent to 2 A-levels. I also take A-level Maths with this. CTEC is viewed as the same as BTEC by most universities!

My school doesn't offer GCSE/A-level Computer Science.
I've got my AS results with A in Maths and DM in ICT (vocational)
I also have 2 AS results at B (english literature and history). I've dropped these because I just didn't enjoy them. Some universities may view this as one full A level.

I'd like to apply for Computer Science.
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Bluecow can you help at all?
Cleopatra Eight
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
A lot of Universities would definitely consider you with these grades.

As a student there, I recommend the University of Essex. They are very accommodating and would be interested in all those qualifications (mention your AS's too, even the ones you dropped!).
I can't make any guarantees, but it would be somewhere to look at.
yt7777
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Good combination for Computer Science!

Most top unis should accept you as you have a strong grade in Maths. if you push for a minimum of DD or higher in your diploma that'll help.

I'm pretty sure Oxford's entry requirements for Computer Science are A* in Maths+ Distinctions in the Diploma.
You should also be able to get into places like: Durham, Exeter, Southampton, Surrey, Loughborough, Bristol, Birmingham, Bath, Kings College London etc.

Just double check with the universities that they accept CTEC as equivalent of BTEC, most only list BTEC because its more common, but the units are practically the same but with a different board so you should be fine.

Hope this helps
computer_noob
Rep:
?
(Original post by yt7777)
Good combination for Computer Science!