The Student Room Group

Dutch universities

Hi, I’m an A2 student currently in the U.K. doing Economics, Business and Spanish a-levels and am thinking about possibly going to the Netherlands for university. I’m mostly thinking about economics and finance courses or maybe geography or PPE. What are the most respected Dutch universities around Europe and which are the best for getting into good postgraduate courses (probably back in the U.K.)? At the moment thinking about Utrecht, Amsterdam, Tilburg and Maastricht, thanks
Original post by KJH1
Hi, I’m an A2 student currently in the U.K. doing Economics, Business and Spanish a-levels and am thinking about possibly going to the Netherlands for university. I’m mostly thinking about economics and finance courses or maybe geography or PPE. What are the most respected Dutch universities around Europe and which are the best for getting into good postgraduate courses (probably back in the U.K.)? At the moment thinking about Utrecht, Amsterdam, Tilburg and Maastricht, thanks

Moved to Studying in the Netherlands :smile:
Reply 2
UVA for PPLE is very well respected. I have just got back from visiting the UVA campus. It was amazing!

The first year tuition fees for all dutch universities have been cut in half too by the Dutch government.
Reply 3
Original post by Breward
UVA for PPLE is very well respected. I have just got back from visiting the UVA campus. It was amazing!

The first year tuition fees for all dutch universities have been cut in half too by the Dutch government.

That’s good to know thanks. Do you know if living costs in Amsterdam are particularly expensive?
Reply 5
You can get cheaper housing on:

https://www.room.nl/en/
Reply 6
Thanks, it is very expensive. I have been looking at maybe the PPE course at Utrecht as it is a smaller city with slightly cheaper living costs, do you know how they compare?
Reply 7
I have visited Utrecht, Amsterdam and The Hague to look at universities.