How difficult is it to get into graduate entry dentistry Watch

username4215144
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Since I'm studying biomedical sciences the idea of pursuing a degree in dentistry is really intriguing. I was wondering how difficult it is to get in compared to GEM? Also whether it's even worth pursuing?
DentApp13
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
If it's something you want to do, it's definitely worth persuing. I did Dental Materials and am now studying Dentistry but majority of other graduates on my course did Biomed. A good UKCAT score and relevant work experience would put you in a good position. I would say medicine and Dentistry both have relatively similar chances to get into as a graduate. It also depends if you were to be looking for 4 year courses (accelerated) as opposed to 5 year ones. The key difference between the two other than the length is the amount of funding you can get. Also there are not as many 4 year graduate dentistry courses.
username4215144
Rep:
?
(Original post by DentApp13)
If it's something you want to do, it's definitely worth persuing. I did Dental Materials and am now studying Dentistry but majority of other graduates on my course did Biomed. A good UKCAT score and relevant work experience would put you in a good position. I would say medicine and Dentistry both have relatively similar chances to get into as a graduate. It also depends if you were to be looking for 4 year courses (accelerated) as opposed to 5 year ones. The key difference between the two other than the length is the amount of funding you can get. Also there are not as many 4 year graduate dentistry courses.
I would really like to do it but there seems to be 3 graduate 4 year courses in the UK. I definately wouldn't be able to afford the 5 year course. Does applying as a graduate still require good a levels?
DentApp13
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by srt565)