Is Asthma an allergic reaction

Watch
blue900
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I never understood if Asthma is an allergic reaction or just someone that has bad lungs.

Can someone please explain this to me?
Phyx
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I'm not a scientist but I have some knowledge on Asthma since I used to have it. There are different types of Asthma but the most common I know are Non-allergic asthma, Allergic asthma and asthma with obesity. For Non-allergic asthma, you just have triggers which can affect your asthma such as dust, smoke, perfumes or strong smells. Allergic Asthma is similar to Non-allergic Asthma but if you come in contact with what your allergic to you definitely get an Asthma attack and sometimes runs in the family. I don't know much about Asthma with obesity but I think it's just due to your organs being pushed together. I might be wrong on that so feel free to correct me.

No one here can really say if your asthma is due to allergies or bad lungs, to get a real answer I'd suggest going to the GP and getting yourself checked out because if you don't know it might become a problem in the future. If you do not want to go to the GP, make a list of everywhere you get an asthma attack and see if the places have anything in common such as lots of dust, smoke or after you eat something specific that could trigger it.

Again I'm not a scientist so some of the things I have said might be wrong so feel free to correct me in any way.
esralled
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I was born with Asthma. It means that I'm allergic to some things, but it's not an allergy in itself. An asthma attack can trigger from intense exercise, for example. My airways are smaller than yours and they fill up with mucus more easily, and I have a smaller lung capacity, so when I have to take in a lot of air at once it's pretty much impossible and I start wheezing. That's not an allergy.