The Student Room Group

Top a level students!!

Hi everyone, i’m starting my a levels soon and i would like to some advice to keep on top of things and tips to get high grades. I’m studying edexcel maths, OCR A biology and aqa chemistry
I take ocr biology and I'm in year 13, I don't do AS as I'm doing linear a levels so I all I did was mocks and I got an A (97%) my advice to you would be to make loads of notes and re write them for revision. Also for me making flashcards helped and watching snap revise videos, make sure you do past papers - with biology especially OCR you may write the right answer but because there's a specific keyword missing, you don't get marks for it. So doing past papers and memorizing markschemes will help 'learn the OCR language' as my teacher used to say! Good luck with your studies!
Original post by z1401
I take ocr biology and I'm in year 13, I don't do AS as I'm doing linear a levels so I all I did was mocks and I got an A (97%) my advice to you would be to make loads of notes and re write them for revision. Also for me making flashcards helped and watching snap revise videos, make sure you do past papers - with biology especially OCR you may write the right answer but because there's a specific keyword missing, you don't get marks for it. So doing past papers and memorizing markschemes will help 'learn the OCR language' as my teacher used to say! Good luck with your studies!

Thanks! Do you think that keeping class notes would be any use, or should i make my own notes from textbooks and keep those?
Learn biology in class by making notes then make your own notes from textbooks to consolidate your learning, or you could get ahead of the class and learn it before the lesson then in class consolidate your learning
Original post by z1401