Should I apply for Medicine?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
This has been really stressful lately, considering that I have no idea what I truly want to do. Truth be told, I'm only slightly interested in Medicine, not even passionate, and if i was to apply for it, it would be more of a last minute decision sort of thing and because some family members have been pushing it onto me saying the pay is good and it's very respected. I'm leaning slightly more towards Optometry, and I'm not really all for the idea of being a doctor, I think the lifestyle would just destroy me. Should I risk it and apply for Medicine? If I become an Optometrist will I be stuck with the relatively lower pay for the rest of my life or will more opportunities arise?
anonymous1243
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
im in the exact same position
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
This has been really stressful lately, considering that I have no idea what I truly want to do. Truth be told, I'm only slightly interested in Medicine, not even passionate, and if i was to apply for it, it would be more of a last minute decision sort of thing and because some family members have been pushing it onto me saying the pay is good and it's very respected. I'm leaning slightly more towards Optometry, and I'm not really all for the idea of being a doctor, I think the lifestyle would just destroy me. Should I risk it and apply for Medicine? If I become an Optometrist will I be stuck with the relatively lower pay for the rest of my life or will more opportunities arise?
If you have doubts then Medicine is probably not for you. Have you done any work experience?

One more thing - please don't be pressurised by family members, because you will be bearing the brunt of the work / pressure and not them. Only do it if you wanted to do it.
DarthRoar
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago