Tom.1017
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi,

I am currently studying a BTEC Information Technology (Extended Diploma) Level 3. Would I be able to apply for a BSc or MSCi at university with the extended diploma. Please reply

Thanks
Zaynah-yuna
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Some universities that I know of could accept you based on your Btec grades or your overall UCAS tariff point. Just Btec alone is going to be difficult as they would most likely want 3 equivalent grade. However if going by tariff point, a ABB is a equivalent of just D*D* alone.
I would recommend calling the university of your choice go through course admissions to clarify the grade needed.
Tom.1017
Rep:
?
Alright thank you, much appreciated
yt7777
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
The Extended Diploma is worth 3 A levels and yes, you would be able to apply for a BSc or Msci. Following my BTEC Level 3 Extended in IT I have completed both a BSc and MSc in Computer Science.

Are you wanting to do Computer Science?
Tom.1017
Rep:
?
Yes, I am very much interested in studying both as I would like to pursue a career in that field.
yt7777
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Tom.1017)
Yes, I am very much interested in studying both as I would like to pursue a career in that field.
Then you'll be fine with the BTEC Extended in IT
Tom.1017
Rep:
?
How long did it take you to complete your extended BTEC?
Tom.1017
Rep:
?
(Original post by yt7777)
Then you'll be fine with the BTEC Extended in IT
yt7777
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
2 years is standard
Tom.1017
Rep:
?
2 years is standard
It is possible to complete in a year right?
yt7777
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
It is possible to complete in a year right?
Not an Extended Diploma, an Extended Diploma is 180 credits (the equivalent of 3 A levels), that'll be far too much work in 1 year and I doubt any college would allow you to attempt it.
Tom.1017
Rep:
?