Letters after my name? When/if to use?

Watch
Sadieleigh95
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I currently have a BSc (Hons) in Psychology and soon I will hopefully have a MSc in Psychology and have GBC membership.

So will my name be..... First name Surname BSc (Hons), MSc, MBPsS

??

Other than emails, when will I use my 'full name' ? On my CV?

Is it snobby or susceptible to teasing to use a post-nominal name? ??
The_Lonely_Goatherd
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
I use post-nominals on my CV. I rarely use it in emails tbh, unless I'm writing to someone important or I want to emphasise where I did my undergrad degree.

I guess with regards to regular using it in emails, it depends on the field you work in :dontknow:

I think some people can regard post-nominals (especially if there are lots of them!) as snobby/showing off. But don't let haters get you down if you really want to use them :smartass:
squeakysquirrel
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Sadieleigh95)
I currently have a BSc (Hons) in Psychology and soon I will hopefully have a MSc in Psychology and have GBC membership.

??

I only use my letters on official documentation when I am trying to make a point.

It is a bit pretentious to use them on ordinary emails.
User8612
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Post-nominals indicating a professional accreditation are fine, but listing undergrad and taught postgrad degrees is a bit ridiculous, to be honest.
threeportdrift
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago

??

Conventionally, you rarely put post-nominals down. You certainly should be putting them on your CV, you just put First Name, Second Name on a CV, your degrees and awards etc are listed in their requisite sections.

Business cards are the commonest place to use them, if the conventions of your industry subscribe, eg academia.

Otherwise, its for others to use them when addressing you in a formal written manner, eg invitations.