The Student Room Group

Is it easy for Americans to get into postgrad programs in UK unis?

I am an American student in my last year of Uni. I will graduate with a 2:1 in the spring. I am going to submit postgrad applications for International Relations master degrees in January. Is it difficult for Americans to get admitted into postgrad programs? No one I know has done this before. Thank you!
Reply 1
Original post by purpledog15
I am an American student in my last year of Uni. I will graduate with a 2:1 in the spring. I am going to submit postgrad applications for International Relations master degrees in January. Is it difficult for Americans to get admitted into postgrad programs? No one I know has done this before. Thank you!

Any specific MA IR programs? There are some US educated students at popular UK IR programs, particularly the well known and competitive (Oxford, LSE, St Andrews). If you fulfil or even exceed entry requirements, it is doable. I think it is easier for US applicants as admissions are familiar with the US education/grading system and welcome a US perspective in foreign policy discussions. Unis also receive each year applications from US students. Some unis have student ambassadors from the US.I recall when I contacted admission, the manager gave me the email of a MSc student from the US who shared my areas of interests.

Good luck
Original post by purpledog15