travellerturtle
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi everyone, I am a year 13 international student hoping to read law in Cambridge (2019 entry), and I am currently having a hard time deciding whether I should apply to Trinity.

All my friends and teacher warned me against it because Trinity is notoriously competitive. Although I have exceeded the predicted grades equivalent of A*AA (I am not taking A-levels), my grades are rather modest, and my teachers think I am likely to be out competed in a popular course like law.

However, a few months ago I have had the opportunity to visit Trinity College because I was one of the winners for their law essay competition. I met the law fellows and fell in love with the college. I really wanted to apply to Trinity, and I was wondering if winning the essay competition will give me a small edge over other applicants on applying to Trinity.

So, should I apply to Trinity at all? Any advice would be greatly appreciated Thanks in advance!
ageshallnot
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by travellerturtle)
Hi everyone, I am a year 13 international student hoping to read law in Cambridge (2019 entry), and I am currently having a hard time deciding whether I should apply to Trinity.

All my friends and teacher warned me against it because Trinity is notoriously competitive. Although I have exceeded the predicted grades equivalent of A*AA (I am not taking A-levels), my grades are rather modest, and my teachers think I am likely to be out competed in a popular course like law.

However, a few months ago I have had the opportunity to visit Trinity College because I was one of the winners for their law essay competition. I met the law fellows and fell in love with the college. I really wanted to apply to Trinity, and I was wondering if winning the essay competition will give me a small edge over other applicants on applying to Trinity.