The Student Room Group

No Stress Through A-Levels?

Bethany's GYG 2018-2019

Hi! My name's Bethany and I've just started Year 12 at an all-girls grammar school, which I've been attending for five years.

I'm studying A-Level:

Biology

Chemistry

Mathematics

Further Mathematics

As a bit of background info, here are my GCSE grades:

Biology: 9
Chemistry: 9
Physics: 9
Mathematics: 9
English Literature: 9
English Language: 7
Latin: 9
History: A*
Business Studies: A*
Religious Studies: A*
+ Additional Maths FSMQ: A (equivalent to an AS module)

I'm planning to study Medicine at a Russell Group university and have started researching universities this summer. Oxford is my dream uni, although I'd be really happy with many others e.g. I love the look of Birmingham so far.

I hope this GYG will help me to stay motivated and also it's just kinda fun. I hope you will maybe chat and ask questions as well.

So far, I've been back at school for three days. Here's a summary of the lessons, etc.:

Spoiler

Overall, I'm enjoying being in sixth form so far, although I suspect that might change in a couple of weeks. It's nice having the separate sixth form block, which gives everything a different feel, more like college. Also we can now use phones, dress in our own clothes, and have frees, which are small things but help make it feel more independent. I also like making new friends as a lot of people have joined this year.

Now I'm going to do all my homework which is already piling up and complete general back-to-school things e.g. downloading study music for free periods, applying to be a student ambassador, packing my sports bag (yes we still have to do P.E :frown:).

Well done if you read all of that. I hope it wasn't too boring. Hopefully it will be more interesting when I'm posting on a daily basis.

A few facts about me:

I'm very nerdy and actually enjoy learning... most of the time

I'm a very stressy person and my goal for this year is to manage my stress levels better