Bipolar and college

Watch
Master Class
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hi all,

I have recently started A-level Psychology in my second year at college (two years in one) alongside my BTEC Sport and Exercise Science course level 3 (I am in my last year of this course, so I am off to Uni next year). However, I have recently been diagnosed with Bipolar. Therefore, should I drop A-level Psychology to focus on my mental health instead of spending time on revising, exam techniques, catching up etc?

I have noted that my mental health has slowly got worse over the last 18 months, so now I am diagnosed with Bipolar disorder, should I use my free time to focus on my mental state instead of academic progress?

Furthermore, I have Autism, so I get anxiety on a frequent basis in addition to struggling socially, thus, finding it stressful when I am around people in lessons. Therefore, if I dropped the A-level Psychology, I could work on this aspect as well with a therapist who I have recently started to see.

Thanks for your time.
Pathway
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
If you don't need A-Level Psychology then I see no real reason why you should study it if you feel it's exacerbating your MH issues, but it might be worth talking to a teacher at your college to discuss this? Tutor? Pastoral care?
Master Class
Rep:
?
(Original post by Pathway)
If you don't need A-Level Psychology then I see no real reason why you should study it if you feel it's exacerbating your MH issues, but it might be worth talking to a teacher at your college to discuss this? Tutor? Pastoral care?
Hi,