Uni of Manchester EEE Degree not accredited anymore; HELP!

Watch this thread
786arslan
Badges: 10
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hello,

So another sad story, I started my first year last september at UoM for Electrical & Electronics Engineering. I spent too much time partying and little time studying and now I have like a 47% average and I had 3 modules compensated.

I received an email from uni today saying my degree isn't accredited anymore because I have more than 20 credits compensated.

I was "under the impression" that my first year doesn't count to my final degree mark and I wont have to do well to still get a first at the end. 2nd year is worth 25% and 3rd is worth 75%.

I wanted to know how bad exactly is this situation? Will this make my degree lose the "Red Brick" status? I was looking to transfer to the MEng from BEng but since its no longer accredited it seems like a bad idea now. I really didnt want to do a MSc for another 2 years and the tuition fee... what would be the best thing to do? Im confident I can get a first but will it make a difference now?
Smack
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by 786arslan)
Hello,

So another sad story, I started my first year last september at UoM for Electrical & Electronics Engineering. I spent too much time partying and little time studying and now I have like a 47% average and I had 3 modules compensated.

I received an email from uni today saying my degree isn't accredited anymore because I have more than 20 credits compensated.

I was "under the impression" that my first year doesn't count to my final degree mark and I wont have to do well to still get a first at the end. 2nd year is worth 25% and 3rd is worth 75%.