History post graduate degree Watch

Alexanderh
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hello,
I am considering applying to do a PhD in a historical subject. I am an archaeologist by profession and academic background and have been out of university for 5 or so years. Problem is I am interested in a lot of different historical time periods, and am finding it hard to pin down a period I would like to dedicate 3/4 years of research to! I would like to know what people's favourite historical periods are and why? And if you can suggest a period that is lesser studied and is in need of some further work I would be interested to hear views. Thanks!
04MR17
  • Community Assistant
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by Alexanderh)
Hello,
I am considering applying to do a PhD in a historical subject. I am an archaeologist by profession and academic background and have been out of university for 5 or so years. Problem is I am interested in a lot of different historical time periods, and am finding it hard to pin down a period I would like to dedicate 3/4 years of research to! I would like to know what people's favourite historical periods are and why? And if you can suggest a period that is lesser studied and is in need of some further work I would be interested to hear views. Thanks!
Personally I am interested not in a specific time period but in thematic history, and moments where historical events are repetitive.