Daniel Emery
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
In my A-Levels I achieved 2 A* at one in law, and one in business, and a B grade in the English Language. I'm studying at NTU (a non-RG) uni with the hope of potentially going onto the Bar. (NTU is now actually ranked 16 in one of the UK rankings) My question is, if I'm the best lawyer in the entire country (speaking hypothetically of course) I.e A-Level A*s a First Class etc and will I still be descriminated against? Is the bias of Russell Groups a genuine elitist and prestige one or is it simply because they tend to rank higher as unis and have higher entry requirements?

All response will be appreciated. Thank-you!
Notoriety
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Be active while you're at uni: committee/pro bono, academic law reviews (there's a national one in case NTU doesn't have much to offer; you probably can try for Notts one too) and obviously shadow and apply for minis. Do plenty of moots. Strive for a very high first, which should not difficult at NTU given your background.

Why did you go to NTU by the way? Extreme drop from A*A*B. No one cares about the rankings (no way is NTU 16th!) nor do they care about RG. They care, in very loose terms, about what they think a uni represents. To many elitists, NTU does not offer much (but getting a high first mitigates this).

EDIT: I missed the bar part of your post. The non-Oxbridge types who end up at the bar either end up in ordinary regional sets, in family or criminal, or they take up Oxbridge(/LSE/UCL) postgrad. This makes them more competitive for the top commercial and chancery sets.

The name of your uni does matter a little bit more because the recruitment process for chambers is a lot less "standardised" than firms. The bar is the more academic side of the profession and takes only the academic best, which is why so many people (even from Oxbridge) end up with a BCL from Oxford.