It doesn’t matter what university you go to. Watch

angelinahx
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
I have to rant. I have to get this off of my chest because there are so many of you, especially on here, who start stressing over university applications and predicted grades before you’ve even entered sixth form. So many of you spend your summers studying and “preparing” for the next year to “get ahead” for university. So many of you are young and underage and live with your parents and have your mental health compromised as a result of stressing over university and outdated and misinformed information.

The truth is that university has lost its relevance. League tables don’t matter anymore. You are not guaranteed a job just because you went to a top university. This is especially true in London. I’m 18 and I live by myself in London and I work part-time as a barista. My coworker is 24 and has a BA from UCL. He works part-time and makes as much as I do whilst working five different part-time gigs to make ends meet.

I know secretaries who graduated from Cambridge. I know team members with business degrees. I know waitresses and sales associates with university degrees. I also know 22 year old Soho bankers who didn’t go to university. I know 27 year olds who make enough money to travel the world with a HNC from their local college and district managers with degrees from Manchester Metropolitan.

Everybody has a degree in London. You going to UCL does not make you stand out from the crowd and you are not special just because you went to York or Manchester or Bristol or UCL like you were 15 or 20 years ago. Apart from an initial “oh wow”, your degree has no significance in the real world and employers certainly don’t care whether you went to UCL or Surrey or Sussex. What matters is your experience. Your personality and your ability to learn new things instead of copying them from a textbook.