The Student Room Group

Are summer schools worth attending, if so which ones?

Hello i'm a y12 student who wants to attend a summer school in summer 2019. However, all of the ones I've seen (eg. bath and UCL) require you to be from a low socioeconomic background, or from a non selective school (I am not either of these).

The only other I've seen is imperial's but that costs £5k!
Are there any cheaper schools? Is imperials even worth it?
Reply 1
Unless you're rich, don't waste your money and summer doing something, that won't even give you any more of an advantage. In the end, universities want you to reflect on your experience and as it doesn't matter what it is, as long as it's relevant to your course in some way, that should be sufficient.
Reply 2
Original post by DrDanB
Unless you're rich, don't waste your money and summer doing something, that won't even give you any more of an advantage. In the end, universities want you to reflect on your experience and as it doesn't matter what it is, as long as it's relevant to your course in some way, that should be sufficient.

I'm not doing it to for my application, it's mainly because I want to learn.
Reply 3
Original post by ZdYnm8vuNR
I'm not doing it to for my application, it's mainly because I want to learn.

Instead of paying £5k to learn something, get a job over the summer - so that you're the one getting paid to learn something. :smile:
Reply 4
Hello i'm a y12 student who wants to attend a summer school in summer 2019. However, all of the ones I've seen (eg. bath and UCL) require you to be from a low socioeconomic background, or from a non selective school (I am not either of these).

The only other I've seen is imperial's but that costs £5k!
Are there any cheaper schools? Is imperials even worth it?

You can do tasters or masterclasses at universities for free (or very cheaply). Don't be paying £k for a summer school :nope:.

e.g. It's a bit early but more tasters will be listed here: