i failed a module which was not my fault and was withdrawn from uni!!!!!!! Watch

thatguyric
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
i am a first year resit student and i failed a module which wasn't my fault. the module i failed had 2 semesters (A&B). i did the exam in semester A but i was too sick to attend the one in semester B so therefore i was granted a deferred referral which allowed me to do the exam later on in the summer. there was an exam announcement on the online uni portal to all students i stating

" This message is only for those whose final mark for "Economics Tools and Techniques" is between 20% and 39% or those who have successfully deferred one of the two in-class tests (or both)..................You will need to sit both parts, regardless of your previous marks in the Semester A and the Semester B tests."

but when i got to the exam they didn't let me do the semester A one just semester B one and i failed.

i appealed to the dean of business and the vice chancellor and they chose to dismiss my appeal

both of them replied that i didn't i submit an extenuating circumstances to defer semester A but the exam announcement clearly says "those who have successfully deferred one of the two in-class tests (or both)..................You will need to sit both parts, regardless of your previous marks in the Semester A and the Semester B tests"

i also received a letter from the associate dean saying " the announcement was generic not to my individual account'' but if it was generic and i deffered one in class test that announcement still applies to me

i feel finessed and conned i have exhausted all the internal procedures and i don't want to go to the OIA ( office of the Independent adjudicator) as they have a low success rate and can take up to 1 year to process a complaint

is there anything else i can do to be put back on my course and progress to second year
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by thatguyric)