The Student Room Group

Teacher changed my coursework without asking me!

Okay so I had to give my teacher my coursework title/premise proposal for English language.
The title and premise I approached her with was an investigation into how FOX news and the New York Times talked about Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump in the 2016 primaries. I would take 6 pieces, one after each debate, one from either piece of media, so 3 pieces from each, 2 per debate. (I hope I explained that right) I would compare spoken and written language and question if gender had an influence on how they were portrayed. The premise isn't the easiest thing in the world, but I told her that I felt I could handle it as I am also studying politics and media, and intend to study a combination course at university, and I felt this could really help me.
She wasn't a huge fan, and I could see I was losing her in the meeting where we discussed it, so I came up with another proposal on the spot that was less ideal. I would take one of then - Hillary or Donald - and compare them to themselves. Look at how the same publication went from viewing Hillary as a model first lady to a potential president or viewing Donald as first a businessman and TV personality to a potential president.
She suggested ditching Donald and focusing on Hillary. Perhaps comparing her to another public figure who is very well known right now. I, jokingly, said "what, like Taylor Swift?" and my heart sank as she smiled and nodded.