ajsar
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
my question to all of you is how much did you revise a day and when did you start I'm a c grade student hoping to get these levels so I'm just asking so i can have an idea thanks!!
-Bibliophile-
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
My biggest tip would be give classes your 100%. Pay attention and put your hand up, always do the homework and hand it in on time and ALWAYS try and do above and beyond with both homework and classwork in order to extend your knowledge and cement your understanding. My theory is that if you pay attention in class and then do solid homework the idea should already be in your head pretty steadfast, meaning that revision really is just revising what you know, rather than relearning things.!

In terms of studying, I studied around 8 hours a week a few months before exams and then closer to exams, I would do 1-2 hours on schoolnights and then 4-5 on the weekend. It doesn't sound like much as it was extremely irregular. Don't pressure yourself to get in every single hour if it means you lose out on sleep. I started revising around February/March but not independently. This meant going to after school and lunchtime revision clubs and talking to your friends and teachers about previous topics to refresh your memory. By May it was hardcore independent study like watching videos and doing practice questions. By the beginning of June, I would be doing timed practice papers almost every day.

Can I just add that revision is a very personal thing. There are people who revise lots and lots and come out with average grades and some who revise less and achieve 7/8/9. You have to do what you think works best with your lifestyle. I would get frustrated when somebody couldn't tell me exactly how many hours to study and when to start studying but having just started sixth form, I realise now how different everyone's techniques were and the similarity in the grades we achieved.