The Student Room Group

Uni at 23?

I'm planning on going to college in the 2019/2020 term to get an Access to HE in Teaching.I have been to college before when I was 16 but didn't pursue Uni after. While at college I was a volunteer teacher at local primary schools for 2 years and loved it. I'm currently 21 and decided I'd like to become a Primary teacher, Id be 22 when I attend college then 23 in my first year of Uni.I'd be leaving a decent job £19,000 and above a year and only 3 days a week for this. Am I crazy? I like my job but don't want to be here forever. I'd like to do something I want to do.Also worried that the savings I have will be blown at Uni and I'll still be living at home with my Mum when i'm 27.

I guess I'm just getting nervous about it all
Reply 1
If you are doing your access course in 2019, you've still got a long time to think about whether this is the right decision for you before you enrol on it. Going to university is a big decision to make, and a huge lifestyle change for mature students. You need to find out whether you think you'll be able to cope with studying full time again, and living on a lot less money. You've said that you like your job but don't want to be there forever, which makes me think you want some kind of change. You should look at all your options available to progressing towards a primary teacher, maybe there are other routes?

Deciding to go back to uni is definitely a huge, scary decision so its no wonder you are apprehensive! Just take the time to think about all your options and I'm sure you'll be able to figure out what will work best for you :smile:
Original post by Haddaway97