The Student Room Group

Mental health problem

Hi, I am a year 13 student who has the ambition to apply to Cambridge. I want to study mathematics and is predicted A*A*A which satisfy the entry requirements of Cambridge.

However, my mental health is very weak and is always being made fun of for trying very hard in my academic subjects. They keep on laughing at me even If I reach the top of the year. What is worse is that If I get a question wrong, I will be told I am **** and Cambridge isnt right for me by the posh kids.
Pls help, I dont want to have a bad mindset in such a crucial time.
See your GP regarding your mental health issue which they may refer you to a therapist or may prescribe you medication.

As for others, it is not your problem. They are ones who don't appear to have a life, got anything interesting to. You could say "why are so obsessed with me for" or "don't you have a life".

Work hard now and the hard work pays off in the future.
Reply 2
I agree with @Analyst89. Focus on improving your MH by seeking help, it's important for your current wellbeing and your future. Book a double appointment with your GP (preferably one you either trust/get along with or one who has a special interest in MH issues). Outline your current problems and triggers, then explain what sort of support you'd like to try accessing (e.g. therapy, counselling, medication, etc.).

Good luck, OP.
Reply 3
ty all
If you're working hard to get 3 x A*'s to study maths at Cambridge - then I would say that that's an indication that your mental health is in a good state.

That type of dedication for worthwhile ambition is to be commended.