The Student Room Group

Oxford Department For Continuing Education Online Courses

Looking for some advice - I’m a mature student. I want to go to University to study either a Creative Writing or English Literature and Creative Writing degree but my highest qualifications are GCSE level, so I know I need some more qualifications to get into Uni.

I was looking at University of Oxford’s Department For Continuing Education, which have online courses, which seem to offer better direct preparation for University study than access and a levels. The courses are worth 10 CATS points each and are either FHEQ Level 4 or FHEQ Level 5. Each course requires a total of about 100 study hours and as it’s Level 4 and 5, these would seem to be superior to A Levels, but I haven’t heard of anyone applying to Uni in this way.

I was thinking of doing maybe four of these courses in English Literature subjects, such as critical reading and literary theory. Does anyone have any experience applying to University with similar qualifications?
Original post by brave_ulysses
Looking for some advice - I’m a mature student. I want to go to University to study either a Creative Writing or English Literature and Creative Writing degree but my highest qualifications are GCSE level, so I know I need some more qualifications to get into Uni.

I was looking at University of Oxford’s Department For Continuing Education, which have online courses, which seem to offer better direct preparation for University study than access and a levels. The courses are worth 10 CATS points each and are either FHEQ Level 4 or FHEQ Level 5. Each course requires a total of about 100 study hours and as it’s Level 4 and 5, these would seem to be superior to A Levels, but I haven’t heard of anyone applying to Uni in this way.