QTS Skills Tests - Cannot Pass Maths, Have other qualifications so lost what to do: Watch

Olden1000
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hello,

I am looking for some advice really,

I have been working at a special needs school for 8 years as a teaching assistant. I have a first class BA (Hons) degree in Special Education and a Masters degree in Child Development. My goal is to become a teacher but I cannot pass the maths QTS skills tests.

Even with tutoring I am just not able to do so due to the mental maths part and the rest is ridiculously weak. It's embarrassing.

I even tried to do a PGCE in Post-Compulsory Education and get QTLS (Qualified Teaching Learning Skills Status) which has parity of pay/standard to QTS. I did this because it had no skills tests. But it felt wrong and of course not a primary teaching route/only transferable to secondary teaching as a loop hole, but ultimately for colleges/sixth forms.

I've looked at Early Years Teacher Status (EYTS) but that also has the same skills tests attached so I might as well choose the primary route with the QTS.

I am at a loss. I feel I have a range of qualifications, wealthy experience and knowledge but cannot get onto the "proper" route of a one year course to prove it all.

I now feel overly qualified to be a TA and like I will never get to where I want to be. It does not pay well and with a BA (Hons) and MA I just don't know what to do about it all.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Sceptical_John
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Why not just go the QTLS route? I know a couple of people are in procress or have done this. Not neccesarily to avoid skills test but it seems perfectly legit.

12. What is the relationship between QTLS and QTS and can I teach in primary and secondary schools if I have QTLS?