How do I become a Psychology teacher with a pgce primary qualification?

Watch
username1039383
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Im currently doing a pgce primary course but my ambitions are to be a primary school teacher for like 3-5 years and then become a psychology teacher for secondary and sixth form/college pupils.

I have a degree in Education Studies
I did Psych at A- level and got an A

would I need to do a masters?
username1039383
Rep:
?
bump
Heather-Good
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Hi,
I'm currently helping teach an access to psychology for a college as my placement on a level 5 diploma in education and training.
As far as I know, to be able to teach, you need one level higher qualification in the subject you intend to teach.
In my case I have a BSc (hons) social studies, so this qualifies me to teach the level 3 course that I'm currently doing.
Hope this helps.
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
Once you have QTS, you can, in theory, apply for any teaching post available- it's up to the school if they'd want to hire you or not. It probably depends on how many applicants they have for the post and what qualifications they hold.

In some schools, it can help if you can also offer another subject either at A-level or further down the school. Do you hold any other A-levels in subjects commonly taught in secondary schools?
username1039383
Rep:
?
(Original post by SarcAndSpark)
Once you have QTS, you can, in theory, apply for any teaching post available- it's up to the school if they'd want to hire you or not. It probably depends on how many applicants they have for the post and what qualifications they hold.

In some schools, it can help if you can also offer another subject either at A-level or further down the school. Do you hold any other A-levels in subjects commonly taught in secondary schools?
my other A-levels are sociology and law.
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago