Structural V Civil V Architectural Engineering Watch

MariumKazmi
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
In an ideal world I would love to study architecture, but I haven't got an artistic mind and wouldn't be able to form a decent portfolio in the time I have. I studied Physics, Chemistry, and Maths at A-Level and got AAB respectively. I was thinking of studying civil engineering as it's the most broad right and would give me the best prospects i guess. But considering my yearn for architecture I thought architectural engineering might be better? I don't understand the differences between civil and architectural though except that civil focuses on structures other than just buildings such as bridges.
Now I've also seen that strucutural engineering is another option, especially the structural engineering with architecture degree at Edinburgh. Can some shed some light on how these degrees differ and which is the most useful.

I'm also worried about architectural or structural engineering not being as respected as civil. Does anyone have any thoughts about that too.

Thanks for all your help.
charlotte2705
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
hey i've applied to that course!! i guess it depends on each course for each uni, considering how niche it is atm. if you're wanting more architecture, apply for a course "with architecture" instead (glasgow and edi?), those are the ones i've seen w the most architecture/studio work. also UCL's eng/architecture course? i've also picked cardiff's, lpool's, and leed's arch engineering as they're more engineeringy over architectural - each uni differs a fair amount w this course so check the modules on the website and go for what you like best (: also all of them are certified by the same structural and civil engineering board as far as i'm aware so i wouldn't worry so much about that, but if you want RIBA cert too, try sheffield and ucl? good luck!!
ProfAlex
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago