MSc Cognitive Psychology-Where does it take me

Watch this thread
Devika Anil
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi,I am an International student who is currently doing MSc Cognitive Psychology(NOT BPS accredited) in the UK. But I didn't do an undergraduation in Psychology and also i have a Masters in Social Work from India. So my question is, Is it possible for me to get a job related to Psychology after i complete this MSc? I am not sure where exactly this is taking me. I fear that i have made a bad decision.What are the career options I have after doing a non-BPS course?Devika
marinade
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 3 years ago
What counts as a 'job related to Psychology'?

PWP? Assistant Psychologist? Clinical Psychologist? I'd have thought it's no to all three.
Waldorf67
Badges: 15
Rep:
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by marinade)
What counts as a 'job related to Psychology'?

PWP? Assistant Psychologist? Clinical Psychologist? I'd have thought it's no to all three.
1. What is PWP?
2. Why is it not possible to be an assistant with a masters in Cognitive Psych?
marinade
Rep:
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Waldorf67)
1. What is PWP?
2. Why is it not possible to be an assistant with a masters in Cognitive Psych?
Psychological Wellbeing Practitioner - usually the job that Psychology graduates of today aspire to be (on the way to the holy grail of a clinical doctorate).

What's special about a master's degree? The OP already said that it isn't BPS, that's the key bit, unfortunately.