The Student Room Group

Predicted Grades Issue (UCAS)

Hi there,

I’m studying
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by zakv72
Hi there,

I’m studying my a-levels at home on the linear specification for all my subjects (Maths, Econ and RE) also self-taught..so no tutors to predict grades and no colleges for internal assessments of any kind. I won’t have predicted grades when the UCAS window opens..my GCSE’s were not the greatest..I achieved 5 C’s but this was long ago and wouldn’t want universities basing anything on my past results. Any advice? Modular spec had its benefits I guess lol.

Who are you going to ask to write your reference? Predictions are optional, a reference isn’t.
Original post by zakv72
Yeah I know but any idea who might be able to do a reference for me if I’m not in school/college and also a mature student now? I’m aiming on going to a good university so my predicted will matter a lot right? Thank you

I don’t know who you know who might be suitable to provide a reference. Are you still in touch with any teachers from school? Or a work manager who could provide a reference? Or a family friend?
Original post by zakv72
None of the above apart from maybe a family friend but would they be able to give me predicted grades? And would accept what they put down? Will it not be bias in a way.

Who would you ask for a reference if you were applying for a job?

Your reference is more important than your predicted grades.
Original post by zakv72
Confused. I meant the family friend would write up my reference and I understand that it’s most important. I could get someone to write a reference but getting the predicted grades are looking like a huge issue for me.

Predicted grades are optional. Your referee doesn’t have to provide them.

If a university needs them then they’ll contact you after you apply to ask for them.