The Student Room Group

Funding a primary PGCE

Hi All,

I'm currently in third year Creative and Professional Writing and am planning on doing a Masters. After that, I want to do the Primary PGCE I know that the PGCE doesn't count as a year of study (hence why I'm doing the Masters) but I'm a little worried about money.

My maintenance loan is very low, just covers my rent, so I work part time to feed myself, fund my studies, relax, etc. However, during the PGCE I'd be on placement, which I've heard is like having a full time job. Obviously I wouldn't be able to have my part time job at the time, so I'm worried I won't be able to feed myself with the maintenance loan.

Which brings me to my question, is student finance still means tested at a postgraduate level?

My parents earn a lot but the relationship with them is complicated. I still talk to them occasionally and meet up for meals but on most levels we are estranged: I don't go home for any holidays and they don't help me with university. They wouldn't fill out the student finance application so I got minimum loan by default. Even then, I know they earn a lot and it probably wouldn't have made a difference.

I have my sights set on teaching and I've heard you can do the salaried route, though it's competitive.

I also wanted to ask about the primary with Maths. For a while now I wanted to take a Maths course separately (I have a C in Maths at GCSE but I know it's my achilles heel and would want to get better at it for the kids sake) and I know you can get a bursary for doing primary with Maths but I think you need a B or above A-Level in Maths. Do you think retaking the GCSE Maths might be advantageous anyway?
Hey

For the PGCE, student finance is assessed in a similar way to at undergraduate level, but you may be able to prove you are financially independent of your parents. The usual criteria for this is:

-Over 25
-Married/in a civil partnership
-You have a child.