Did I mess up my personal statement? Watch

jmrami
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am trying to apply for Linguistics & Spanish courses. In my personal statement I mentioned multiple different types of Spanish media I enjoyed: podcasts, books, short stories, movies, and poetry. I explained each specific media with what its contents were about. Was that a bad approach? I already turned in my UCAS app
username3731912
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
I'm no expert on personal statements, let alone those based on languages, but I don't think it seems to be a bad approach. You discussed areas you're interested in, why would that be bad?
jmrami
Rep:
?
(Original post by anonymous1231231)
I'm no expert on personal statements, let alone those based on languages, but I don't think it seems to be a bad approach. You discussed areas you're interested in, why would that be bad?
I thought the commentary on the media you presented had to be more about your perspectives and arguments on them, but I did more of a summary on each item.
username3731912
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by jmrami)
I thought the commentary on the media you presented had to be more about your perspectives and arguments on them, but I did more of a summary on each item.
...So you literally just described everything? Did you not say things like this interested me because...?
xEmilyxx
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
The personal statement is used to give a summary and a taster of some of your current ideas on things, and in your case, this should be the ideas and personal views on the things you've read or watched or listened to. As you've just summed up what you've looked at it certainly will make your personal statement weaker than what it could be, but by no means is it the end of the world.
jmrami
Rep:
?
(Original post by xEmilyxx)